Fest 2012: Labor Day Weekend Recap

Three days is a marathon. Usually, I take one of the days off from Fest, but not this year! I did arrive a bit late Sunday morning, because my spouse was with me, but other than that, I was there pretty much from 8-8 all 3 days.

It was the first weekend of Romance Wars, and the person assigned to ‘hit’ me seems to be going very much over the top… Romance Wars is not designed for actual matchmaking, it’s basically a Secret Santa type deal just to pass the time at Fest. It’s not supposed to cost a lot of money either—inexpensive things and making things is totally allowed, so I hadn’t planned on spending a lot on it. But on Saturday, I was hit with 2 blue leather roses—very beautiful! I expected that to be the end of it, and even that was more costly than I’d expected, but on Monday I was hit again, with a goblet from my favorite shop at Fest, Garden of Luminaria. Their stuff isn’t cheap. It’s a beautiful mug, but I felt a bit awkward about receiving it. I hope the person on the other end isn’t expecting actual romance on the other end… it’s made explicit in the rules that that’s not the purpose of the game…

It also made me feel a bit stingy about my hit. Although the person hitting me is not the same person I’ve been assigned to hit (the Gnome!), I still wonder if people in general are spending more money. My first hit on the Gnome consisted of some honey sticks and a sweet note. It cost me about $1. Ugh!

The other notable thing about the weekend was my spouse being there on Sunday. I have pretty much concluded that I don’t like to have people there with me. It’s fine if they are there and we hang out for awhile, but I don’t like to bring them as a guest and have to entertain them or wonder if they are bored hanging out with the Troupe all day. I’m very, very jealous of people whose spouses or significant others have their own occupation at Fest—I’d love to have my s.o. out there to dance with me, have lunch together, carpool, visit each other during the day. Most people in that situation met at Fest, though, I think. And I don’t even think my spouse really likes coming out that much at all. He likes it for a few hours; he wouldn’t even be a season pass holder (partly because he works most weekends, but even if he didn’t, I don’t think he would). That depresses me sometimes.

I’m actually thinking of just being a season pass holder next year. Or working in a shop. I was going to try to get a shanty-singing group together, and I might still. But I am pretty sure I will not be with my current troupe again next year. I’ll write more about that later…

Leave a Reply

