Australia Visit: Days 6-7

Day 6: Reef Day!
We went out snorkeling/scuba diving on the Great Barrier Reef! It was pretty awesome. I thought about trying scuba, because it was pretty cheap given that the boat ride out was already paid for, but we had to fill out a health form at the beginning, and since I am on anxiety medication, they wouldn’t let me. That was fine with me; I didn’t have my heart set on scuba or anything. I went snorkeling and that was really fun.

One of the program leaders showed me around a bit – he found a clownfish (Nemo!) and showed me, and a sea cucumber, and huge clams. Just in general the fish were really bright, pretty and colorful, and so was the reef itself. I also just really enjoyed the boat ride. We saw a humpback whale mama and baby! I didn’t see it up close, although apparently they got quite close to the boat, but I could see them in the distance. So cool!

Day 7: Cairns-Townsville
I took the Greyhound bus from Cairns to Townsville. It was about a 6-hour journey, but it was very enjoyable and passed quickly. The bus wasn’t very full, so I had two seats to myself and plenty of room to spread out a little bit. I just watched the scenery and listened to music for the entire time—quite pleasant!

Also, the bus driver was awesome. When we started out, he made an announcement with some safety instructions, etc, and his information about the bathroom made me laugh. It went something like this:

“The bus is equipped with a toilet, or bathroom, for your comfort, so please use that if you need it. If you do need to use the facilities, please make sure that you lock the door. This is important for a few reasons. First, it turns on the light. Second, it keeps out any unwanted visitors. Third, it keeps you in the bathroom. Sometimes on the highway I have to swerve the bus, and if the door is not locked, the occupant of the toilet can find themselves in the seat across the way, usually with their pants around their ankles, and never very happy.

Also, outside the toilet, and in no way connected to what happens inside the toilet, you will find chilled water for your convenience.”

I was cracking up. He was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

