Trying to Eat Right

Recently I’ve been trying to get back into tracking my eating habits to make sure that I get the proper nutrition, and don’t eat too much junk food. I’ve had a couple of streaks in the past when I was really good at this for a long time, but eventually got out of the habit of doing it.

The tool I use to track my eating is great, and I like it even more now because between the last time I used it and now, they have greatly modified the site to really help you track your nutrition, not just your calories, fat intake, etc. It is Calorie Count from About.com. And it’s free!

Last time around, I was also restricting calories because I was trying to lose a few pounds, and that was discouraging because I didn’t see results and I felt hungry all the time. This time around has been better so far, because I’m really focusing more on the nutrition aspect, which is a better motivator for me. The motivation to lose weight is really society’s goal for me, not my goal for myself. Good nutrition and general health is more important to me. Plus, aiming for my maintenance number of calories is easier than weight-loss number, and if I got a few calories over (which I’ve actually only done once so far this time), I’m not stressing about it.

Leave a Reply

