A Long Day of Extraverting Takes Its Toll

Yesterday we had our big study abroad fair. It’s a day that I’ve never particularly enjoyed, but before I got my promotion, it was a bit better. In my former job, I only had to talk to students, which is tiring enough already, but something I’m used to. Now, in my new job, I also have to play hostess to any of the partners I work with who come into town to participate in the Fair. So it’s a long day of extraverting: talking to tons of students, and even worse, playing hostess to FIVE people visiting to participate in the fair.

I’ve been fighting off a cold for a couple of weeks, and about halfway through the Fair, I started sneezing and coughing a lot. I thought it was just allergies from being outside in the wind all day. But by 3:00, I was absolutely EXHAUSTED. Then there was a “mandatory” happy hour after that, and then I had class. So I was at the U from 8am-9pm, and just exhausted. I had to get coffee after the happy hour (at which I only had water, no alcohol) just to get through class. During and after class I started to feel like I had a sore throat and have a headache and feel stuffed up. I hoped I’d feel better after a good nights’ sleep, but I woke up at 4am feeling even crappier, and knew I was not going to be going in to work today. Actually I ended up going in for like an hour to do a conference call that I needed to be at, and also to pick up my laptop so that I could do some work from home.

I still feel like crap even though I’ve been resting and drinking fluids all day. Just an example of how physical a toll extraverting can take on an extreme introvert like myself. It could have also been partly the weather, because it was a bit chilly in the morning, but for the most part the weather was pretty nice. I think all that finally ran me down enough that the germs I’d been fighting off overthrew my immune system.

Leave a Reply

